Lesson for this week: Gluten kicks my ass

So doing this WOE (way of eating) has opened my eyes to a lot of things. One of which is that my body is so much better off when I cut out flour. When deciding on whether to eat something, I ask myself  “is there any flour in this?”. If the answer is NO, then game on!! Flour = carbs. Simple and easy to remember and for me to do. So what some people in my Facebook low carb group do is scrape off the toppings off a regular pizza and eat the toppings. Sounds good. Well I learned this past week not to do that.

My hubby was the first to suggest that I may be gluten intolerant. Ok… maybe. Little backstory here: I have always had stomach issues. Always. As a little kid even. My parents took me to so many doctors and were so desperate to help me out that they took me to a “witch doctor” to help me out. Her treatment didn’t help. So I grew up trying to cope with my stomach issues. Went to college and learned to deal with it on my own. Which sucked because I wouldn’t do certain activities. If there wasn’t a restroom nearby, I wasn’t doing it. And I hated huge events because that meant lines and usually the urge would hit me and I had to go NOW.

As an adult I would go to a different doctor every few years and they would run every test under the sun. Some of those are not at all fun, pretty invasive actually. In the end I would be told “negative, there’s nothing wrong with you”. It was frustrating. When I got with my hubby, he would insist on me going to different doctors to see if they could help me. So more drs and more tests. And once again “Negative, nothing is wrong with you”. Even my hubby was getting frustrated with the doctors.  I finally found a dr who helped me somewhat. I had what I called “an endo attack” during my appointment with him. In addition to my stomach issues, I also suffer from endometriosis. And when my endo would flare up, it would make my stomach issues worse. I would have endo attacks that would last hours and I’d be stuck in the bathroom the whole time. I even passed out once from the pain. So you understand why I would try to stay home “just in case”.  Anyway, the doctor was running behind and came in to apologize and told us that he would definitely see us. After he left, I started bloating up and running to the bathroom. I think it was after my 4th trip to the bathroom, he ran into me in the hallway and asked what was wrong. That’s when he saw my stomach and gasped. I was considerably much “bigger”than when he last saw me. These endo attacks would always bloat me up to the point where I looked pregnant. I explained what was happening and he swore that he would figure it out. I had all the usual tests and he found nothing. He put me on every antibiotic he could to get rid of the bad bacteria and that helped somewhat. I wasn’t as bad as I used to be but it still was an issue. I was happy just for that. It was some improvement. I had another dr who prescribed a medication that I would take with meals that would help lessen the bathroom time. It was a life changer but I hated being on meds and sometimes I would forget to take the pills with me.

Back to my original thought of this post: hubby suspected I was gluten intolerant. I was open to it but didn’t give it much thought because that was part of what all those tests were for. And negative. But every time I ate flour, BAM!! I was sick again. So last week we went out to run errands and we decided to stop by a pizza place for some wings, pizza and stuffed mushrooms. I knew that they didn’t coat their wings in flour. And the stuffed mushrooms had no flour in it either. I scraped the toppings off my pizza because that’s when I’ve heard you can do and still be low carb. Within a few minutes of leaving the restaurant, I was sick. I got home and was sick for hours, running to the restroom. I went online and learned that if you do have a gluten allergy, you can get cross contamination by scraping off the toppings off a regular pizza. Ooooohhhh. Didn’t know that. Now I do.

So now, no more doing that. I need to be careful with gluten cross contamination because I don’t want to go through that again. Lesson learned.

Other than that, it was a good week. My mini goal is 210 by the end of the month. My new bigger goal is 199. That will put me under 200. It’s been 14 yrs since I’ve been there. Only 14 more lbs to go!!! Yes!!!!

Starting weight: 242

Current weight: 213

Total lost: 29 lbs.

New goal: 199

Leave a Reply

