First things first…

The main thing that I have to take care of is my health, specifically my weight. I used to be like a lot of women. I was in really good shape. I was athletic, loved working out and the gym. I was around 125-135 when I had my first kid in my late 20’s. Then I got up around 150-160. Had my second kid in my mid 30’s and that’s when the massive weight came. I told myself when I hit 40 yrs of age that I would lose the weight because I didn’t want to be fat in my 40’s. I hit 50 in 2 yrs and it’s still here…and brought friends. So part of my accountability to myself, I need to actually do this. I can do this and enter my 50’s healthy.

I have kids. 20 and 13. I need to be there for them and to see how it turns out for them and my grandkids. I have a husband that I love and I want to grow old with him. I have a mom that had a stroke a little over a year ago and now I’m her “medical” person (She calls me her secretary, lol).  I need to definitely to be healthy to make sure my mom is taken care of correctly.

Now, time to be honest. I hit 242 lbs after the holiday season. 242. Wow.  I’m not diabetic so that’s good but my dr did tell me last February that he wanted me to eat less carbs so I don’t become diabetic. Which I want to keep that off my table of issues because almost everyone in my family becomes diabetic in their 30’s. 40 if you’re lucky. I have a big issue with energy. I have none. Sometimes I wonder how I get through work (it gets physical).  I had a dr that thought I was borderline narcoleptic. Yawning all the time, sluggish, sleepy and I have some mad ninja sleep skills. I also have legs that get really sore and tired easily and I’ve have been suffering from foot pain for the past 2-3 yrs. Really bad to the point where I have thought that chopping off my feet wouldn’t have been too bad.

I tried so many diets. Oh, I’m sorry…lifestyle changes. The best was the whole Eat Clean by Tosca Reno. I loved that one. I lost 30 lbs in 3 months! Also I was having gallbladder issues so that really made me change my eating habits. But Eat Clean was awesome. Never hungry and I loved eating healthy. But once I had some bad times come along, I started stress eating again.  And hello 30 lbs…oh and look, it brought friends.

So now, I’m taking dr’s orders and doing low carb. Did research and started January 1, 2017. 1st month down and I lost 12 lbs. First 2 weeks I lost those 12 lbs. No more scale movement but my clothes are feeling looser. I can bend over and tie my shoe and not feel like I’m going to pass out. No more leg or foot pain. Yay!! The best part is that I have loads of energy. I mean it’s a night and day difference. I don’t take naps anymore. I actually leave the house on my days off. I do things at night now. I haven’t felt like this since my early 20’s!! I figure it’s not eating bread. I’ve heard how bad flour is bad for you but this is something else. I’m kinda mad at myself that cutting flour and sugar has change my energy level .This is something I could have done before. I’ve missed out on so much because I was sleeping!

So I’m at 230.  My birthday is in a couple of weeks. I want to get as close to 220 as I can within that time. I think I know what’s been holding me back. I snack too much. Gotta cut that out. And I think I eat too much cheese and I think foods with sugar alcohol stall my progress. I’m gonna try those theories out and see if that helps. I’m also going to start doing some simple exercises. I have a fitbit and walk about 5-6 miles a day at work, at least. One thing about my job, it’s a lot of walking.

Let’s see how I do. First, let’s get the facts out of the way.

Starting weight: 242 on 1/1/17

Current: 230 on 1/31/17

Total lost: 12 lbs

Leave a Reply

